Quick Lunch – Veggie Rice Bowl

P1080896

In my previous post, I told you I was planning on making a rice bowl when those darn sweet potatoes distracted me (with pleasant results). Well, I guess I didn’t get the rice bowl completely out of my head, because that’s what I ended up making for a quick lunch the very next day. I got to use up more of the broccoli and mushrooms, which I stir-fried with some onion, plus fresh carrots and cucumber (the small sweet kind with thin skin, often labelled as Persian cucumber in the US).

Then I fried an egg, put it on top, and called it a meal.

P1080887P1080895P1080898

Quick Veggie Rice Bowl

I love the combination of cooked and raw vegetables on top of hot, fragrant rice. I’m not usually that much of a fried egg fan, but I broke the yolk to make it more of a mini-omelette, and really enjoyed it here.

For the stir-fry:
2 tbsp. vegetable oil, for frying
1 medium onion, sliced
1 cup mushrooms, sliced
1 cup broccoli, cut into bite-sized florets
salt and pepper

For the stir-fry sauce:
2 tbsp. soy sauce
1 tsp. corn starch
1 tbsp. vinegar (I used cider vinegar, but I think rice wine vinegar would be even better)
1 tbsp. sugar
1/2 tsp. crushed chili flakes (optional)
1/2 tsp. sesame oil

Everything else:
1 cup rice
1 carrot, sliced thinly
1 small cucumber, sliced thinly
toasted sesame seeds for garnish
1 egg

Start by steaming the rice, either in a rice cooker (according to the cooker’s directions) or on the stovetop in a tightly covered pot. While the rice is cooking, prepare the vegetables. Heat oil on high in a wok or large frying pan. When the oil is very hot, add the mushrooms and cook for 1–2 minutes to allow the pan to heat back up. Next, add the broccoli and stir, cooking for 1–2 minutes. Add the sliced onion and stir fry for a few more minutes, until all the vegetables are tender-crisp. In a bowl, combine the stir-fry sauce ingredients making sure the corn starch is mixed in smoothly. Pour the sauce over your stir-fried vegetables and bring up the heat again until the sauce thickens. If it’s too thick, add a few tablespoons of water. Turn off the heat and cover until you’re ready to assemble your rice bowl.

Once the rice is ready, spoon out a serving into your bowl. Arrange the sliced carrots, cucumbers, and stir-fried vegetables on top. In a small pan, fry your egg at the last minute, and slide on top of the bowl. Top with toasted sesame seeds and bask in the smugness of knowing that your lunch today is better than everyone else’s.

Leave a Reply

